

LLANHARAN COMMUNITY COUNCIL

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM) OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON A REMOTE BASIS ON THURSDAY 20TH MAY 2021 AT 6.30 pm

Meeting held in accordance with:

The Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021

PRESENT: Councillors C Parker (Chair), R Lewis-Watkin (Deputy Chair), R Turner, G.Hopkins, B Stephens, H Donnan, J Turner, R Jenkins.

IN ATTENDANCE: The Acting Clerk/Project Officer Leigh Smith, plus two members of the attendance.

AGM2021/01 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

RESOLVED: Councillor C Parker be elected Chairperson of the Council for 2021/22

AGM2021/02 ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED: Councillor R Lewis-Watkin be elected Deputy Chairperson of the Council for 2021/22.

AGM2021/03 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE: Apologies were received from Councillor J Williams.

AGM2021/04 NOTE MINUTES OF AGM MINUTES HELD ON 18TH JUNE 2020 Noted.

AGM2021/05 DISCLOSURES OF PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS
None

AGM2021/06 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: The following membership, committee dates and amendments were adopted as follows:

a) Human Resources Committee (5 members)

Councillors Geraint Hopkins (Chair), Rhys Jenkins, Chris Parker, Pam Uppal and Robert Lewis-Watkin.

All meetings of the HR Committee to be held subject to the following Resolution:

"By virtue of the Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960, the press and public are excluded from discussion of the full item on the basis that disclosure thereof would be prejudicial to the public interest by reason of the confidential nature of the business to be transacted".

Meeting dates: 14 July 21, 14 Sept 21, 9 Nov 21, 11 Jan 22, 8 March 22.

b) Open Spaces, Rights of Way and Allotments (5 members)

Councillors Chris Parker (Chairman), Helen Donnan, Will Thomas, Jeff Williams, Janine Turner plus 2 co-opted members, Olie Wicks and Mark Steer.

Meeting dates: 8 June 21, 7 Sept 21, 2 Nov 21, 4 Jan 22, 1 March 22, 10 May 22.

c) Audit Committee (6 members)

Councillors Roger Turner (Chairman), Chris Parker, Daniel Morelli, Barry Stephens, Will Thomas, Robert Lewis-Watkin. Geraint Hopkins.

Meeting dates: 15th June 21, 21st Sept 21, 16th November 21, 18th January 22, 15th March 22, 17th May 22.

d) Community Infrastructure Levy Committee (5 members)

Councillors Robert Lewis-Watkin (Chairman), Janine Turner (Vice Chair), Will Thomas, Helen Donnan, Rhys Jenkins.

Proposed meeting dates: 6 July 21, 15 September 21, 10 Nov 21, 12 January 22, 9 March 22

AGM2021/07 APPOINTMENT OF WORKING GROUPS

RESOLVED: The following membership, dates and amendments were adopted as follows:

e) Community Engagement Working Group (6 members)

Councillors Chris Parker (Chair) and Will Thomas, plus 2 Co-opted menbers, Andrea James and Poppy Evans.

RESOLVED to dissolve the previous Committee and reconstitute as a working group.

Meeting dates: 22 June 21, 28 Sept 21, 14 Dec 21, 22 March 22

f) Tacking Poverty Working Group (4 members)

Councillors Janine Turner, Chris Parker, Geraint Hopkins, Barry Stephens.

Dated to be determined.

AGM2021/08 APPOINTMENT OF EXTERNAL LIAISON GROUPS.

RESOLVED: The following memberships were adopted as follows:

a) RCT/Town and Community Liaison Committee

Councillors Chris Parker and Helen Donnan

b) Llanharan Community Development Project (1 member)

Councillor Geraint Hopkins

c) One Voice Wales (1 member)

Councillor Rhys Jenkins

d) School Governing Bodies

Dolau – Councillor Janine Turner Brynna – Councillor Barry Stephens Llanharan – Councillor Geraint Hopkins

AGM2021/09 APPEALS AND DISCIPLINARY PROCESS

RESOLVED To continue with the below process with regards to membership of panels relating to the Appeals and Disciplinary process:

a) Appeals

All Members of the Council.

If the Panel is convened, Members who do not have a previous interest will be chosen by rote by the HR Committee.

b) Disciplinary

All Members of the Council. If the Panel is convened Members who do not have an interest will be chosen by rote by the HR Committee.

AGM2021/10 PAYMENT OF CIVIC ALLOWANCES

RESOLVED The following payments were agreed.

- a. The Chair of the Council's allowance for the ensuing year of £1500
- b. The Deputy Chairperson of the Council's allowance for the ensuing year of £500
- c. The Members' allowance for the ensuing year was noted

AGM2021/11 CONSIDERATION OF WRITTEN MOTIONS RESOLVED The following were resolved.

The maximum total of motions required by written notice that can be considered by the Council in the municipal year will be unlimited.

The maximum total of motions required by written notice that can be considered by the Council in any one ordinary meeting will be 3.

AGM2021/12 CONSIDERATION OF MEMBERSHIP TO BODIES RESOLVED To renew the following memberships and pay memberships fees.

One Voice Wales (OVW) at a cost of £1280.00

Society of Local Council Clerks for the Clerk and Assistant Clerk, cost to be determined.

AGM2021/13 INTERNAL AUDIT

RESOLVED To Appoint Mr Nick Goss as an Internal Auditor for 2021/22

Chris Parker

Chair of the Council